English (United States) English (United Kingdom)
You are here:   Home
Register   |  Login

Privacy Statement

DAPHNE, Alabama - in the BCS National Championship Game on Monday night is the final entry in the College Football Game of the Year lineup for the 2013 season.

The U.S. Sports Academy's College Football Game of the Year Committee selects a Game of the Week throughout the season. Each week's winner joins the competition to become the College Football Game of the Year. The BCS National Championship Game was selected to represent the bowl season among the College Football Game of the Year choices.

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston, the 2013 Heisman Trophy winner, threw a 2-yard touchdown pass to Kelvin Benjamin with 13 seconds left in the game to lift the Seminoles over Auburn in the title game at Rose Bowl Stadium. The TD capped a comeback for a team that hadn't been behind since the fourth game of the season until Auburn jumped on FSU for a 21-3 lead.

Auburn running back Tre Mason rushed for 195 yards against Florida State, breaking the school single-season record for rushing yards set by Bo Jackson in 1985.

In an AL.com poll, the BCS National Championship Game would be the 16th entry in the Game of the Year contest.

Of the 16 Games of the Week, seven involved at least one SEC team and five were conference games. Auburn played in three of the games. Only Stanford, with four, appears on the list more.

Clemson's 38-35 victory over Georgia on Aug. 31 was the for the 2013 season. Michigan's 41-30 victory over Notre Dame on Sept. 7 was the . Alabama's 49-42 victory over Texas A M on Sept. 14 was the . Fresno State's 41-40 victory over Boise State on Sept. 20 was the . Georgia's 44-41 victory over LSU on Sept. 28 was the. Stanford's 31-28 victory over Washington on Oct. 5 was the. Utah's 27-21 victory over Stanford on Oct. 12 was the . Auburn's 45-41 victory over Texas A M on Oct. 19 was the . South Carolina's 27-24 double-overtime victory over Missouri on Oct. 26 was the . Michigan State's 29-6 victory over Michigan on Nov. 2 was the . Stanford's 26-20 victory over Oregon on Nov. 7 was the . Southern Cal's 20-17 victory over Stanford on Nov. 16 was the . Oklahoma State's 49-17 victory over Baylor on Nov. 23 was the . Auburn's 34-28 victory over Alabama on Nov. 30 was the . Michigan State's 34-24 victory over Ohio State in the Big Ten championship game on Dec. 7 was the .

The Game of the Year has featured an SEC team as its winner for the past four years.

Game of the Year winners have been Rutgers for its 28-25 victory over Louisville in 2006, Appalachian State for its 34-32 victory over Michigan in 2007, Texas Tech for its 39-33 victory over Texas in 2008, Alabama for its 32-13 victory over Florida in 2009, Auburn for its 22-19 victory over Oregon in 2010, Alabama for its 21-0 victory over LSU in 2011 and Texas A M for its 29-24 victory over Alabama in 2012.

The College Football Game of the Year Committee is chaired by Jack Lengyel, a former athletic director at the U.S. Naval Academy. Lengyel also was a college football coach best known for being the head coach who resurrected the Marshall University program after the Thundering Herd's devastating plane crash.

Daniel Moore, the American Sports Art Museum and Archives 2005 Sport Artist of the Year, is commissioned annually by the U.S. Sports Academy to create a painting of the College Football Game of the Year. USSA donates Moore's painting along with ,000 to the general scholarship fund of the College Football Game of the Year Award winner.

Other members of the committee are Moore, former National Football Foundation CEO Robert Casciola, former National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics executive director Mike Cleary, former Temple football coach Ron Dickerson, former Georgia athletic director and football coach Vince Dooley, former Ohio State athletic director James Jones, American Football Monthly and Gridiron Strategies managing editor Rex Lardner, former Washington athletic director Mike Lude, former California athletic director Dave Maggard, former Arizona State athletic director Dick Tamburo, former Notre Dame associate athletic director Roger Valdiserri and former Oklahoma State and Washington State athletic director Dr. Richard Young.

The College Football Game of the Year Award is a part of the U.S. Sports Academy's Awards of Sport series. USSA is the largest graduate school of sport education in the world and is the only free-standing, accredited university in the United States devoted entirely to sport programs.

(AL.com's online polls reflect the views of readers who choose to participate and are not the kind of scientific sampling of opinion used to predict the views of the public as a whole.)

a href="http://polldaddy.com/poll/7703768/" Which of the 16 Games of the Week should be USSA's 2013 College Football Game of the Year? /a
Related Articles:
christian louboutin discount websites
christian louboutin sale shoes uk
cheap christian louboutin shoes uk
red bottom shoes christian louboutin sale
christian louboutin outlet uk
louboutin shoe sale